Universities celebrate 50 years of computer science together

At TU Dresden, TU Darmstadt, the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, TU München, and TU Saarbrücken, were the first nationwide university computer science programs set up in 1969. The five Software Campus research partners look back on a long tradition of teaching and research in the different fields of computer science. Today, they are home to over 160 computer science professorships, nationwide about 115.000 students were enrolled in computer science programs in the winter semester 17/18 (source: Statista).

Germany-wide feast day

On June 19, 2019, the five universities celebrate the feast day in honor of half a century of computer science education together: The local celebratory programs switch live to certain program items of the other sites. In Dresden, after the welcome speech by Saxon Prime Minister Michael Kretschmer, Federal Chancellor Angela Merkel will deliver additional greetings to the guests. Professors of the universities look back (“Beginnings of computer science education in Germany” and “Origin of the computer”) and ahead (“Importance of IT security in the computer science studies”, “Robotics and AI”). Prof. Horst Zuse presents his father Konrad Zuse’s early computer developments and Vince Ebert speaks about how we will get “through digitalization with common sense”.

All information on the festivities is gathered here.

More News